Key people

The Nuclear AMRC is owned by the University of Sheffield, but overseen by our industrial partner companies on a consortium basis. Operations are headed by the executive team of directors. Strategy and research areas are determined with the guidance of the board of member companies.


Andrew Storer, chief executive officer
Andrew Storer is responsible for leadership and strategy of the Nuclear AMRC. He joined as managing director in 2015 from Rolls-Royce, where he was programme director of the civil nuclear business, and was appointed chief executive from August 2017.

Steve Lawler, operations director
Steve Lawler joined the Nuclear AMRC in August 2016 after almost 30 years in design and manufacturing roles in nuclear, aerospace and other industries. He is responsible for managing the safe delivery of programmes across the Nuclear AMRC’s research factory.

Colin Walters, programme director
Colin Walters joined the Nuclear AMRC in October 2016 after leading facility, business and membership development for TWI over 17 years. He previously spent 18 years with BNFL. Colin is responsible for managing the Nuclear AMRC’s resources to deliver the maximum benefit to the UK supply chain.

Jay Shaw, business development director
Jay Shaw joined the Nuclear AMRC’s machining group in 2010, becoming head of machining before moving to business development. HeĀ is responsible for identifying and creating opportunities for UK manufacturers to win work in nuclear, and for growing the Nuclear AMRC business.

Professor Steve Jones, chief technology officer
Steve Jones is responsible for the Nuclear AMRC’s technology strategy to ensure the centre delivers innovative and valuable technical solutions to the UK supply chain. He joined in September 2017 from Coventry University’s Advanced Manufacturing and Engineering Institute.



David Orr, Rolls-Royce (chair)
Marc Duret
, Areva UK
Lindsay Roche
, Westinghouse UK
Stephen Burgess
, Rolls-Royce
Graham Honeyman
, Sheffield Forgemasters
Bart Simpson, Autodesk
Jonathan Brown, Cammell Laird
Angus Fielden, Hexagon Metrology
Simon Plumtree, ITW Welding Group
Ron Gorham, NDA
Neil Smart, Sellafield Ltd
Lee Scott, Starrag Group
Martin Burnham, IFA (Tier Two representative)

Chris Squires, EDF Energy
Tim Davies, Hitachi-GE
George Pritchard, Horizon Nuclear Power
Stephen Shackleford, NNL
Neil Irvine, Dalton Nuclear Institute
Graham Wren, University of Strathclyde
Campbell Kier, DIT
Graham Heys, ONR